Maple Pumpkin Pie

Every fall, Libby’s pumpkin pie filling seems to appear in many shops. The recipe for a wonderful pumpkin pie always catches my eye and entices me to spend two hours making and then eating this delicious treat.

After getting some ingredient to experiment with recently, I added a twist to this classic pumpkin pie. Here’s what I did differently from the typical Libby’s recipe:

  • Substituted Grade B maple syrup for white sugar (same units)
  • Added 1/3 teaspoon cayenne pepper instead of ground cloves and ginger
  • Added 1/2 teaspoon more cinnamon
  • Used a 9-inch unbaked pie crust

It was so delicious that only one slice survived after a few hours around my five roommates.

Maple syrup has a rich, distinct flavor that goes well with pumpkin. I used cayenne pepper and more cinnamon because I had no more ground cloves or ginger (I couldn’t grind it finely enough to use) but still wanted a kick of flavor to be present. The biggest difference, though, was using an unbaked pie crust instead of a graham cracker one. I’ll be sure to bake the crust a little before putting the filling into it next time, as it got a little soggy after cooling down.

Put a hefty serving of whipped cream on a slice to make it taste even better. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

