Single Serving of Maple Soufflé (5 Ingredients)

I had a fear of soufflé growing up. Cartoons I watched would occasionally refer to this exotic, French dessert as being so fragile that a loud sound could deflate it. I knew I wanted to taste that. When I came across a recipe for a two ingredient soufflé, I saw my chance.

All it requires is eggs and maple syrup, cooked in a ramekin (a personal-sized baking dish). While I appreciate the recipe’s convenience, I found that the maple syrup flavor wasn’t significant enough to mask an overwhelming egg taste.

I tried it again with the changes I had in mind: cinnamon to mask that taste and butter to grease the bottom and add a more familiar dessert scent.

.Here’s my recipe for a single serving of a maple soufflé:

  • 1 medium egg
  • 1/8 teaspoon cream of tartar OR 1/4 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 4 tablespoons of maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • butter to grease ramekin

First, preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Separate the egg yolk from the egg white. Put the egg white in a bowl and add the cream of tartar/lemon juice (these serve as an acid that make soft peaks form more easily). Whisk it until soft peaks form. In a separate bowl, whisk the egg yolk and the maple syrup. Fold the whipped egg whites and cinnamon into the bowl. Grease the ramekin, and whisk the mixture once more before putting it in the bowl (the maple syrup will separate from whipped egg whites) Put it in the oven for 10 minutes. Turn the oven off, but do not open the oven right away. Let it cool for a few minutes before taking it out.

You will learn that soufflé does deflate quite easily. The hot air gives it a structure, so the soufflé flattens as the temperature decreases outside the oven. If you don’t serve it within a minute of it being out of the oven, it will begin to sink.

It’s hot upon digging in, and meant to be eaten slowly and in moderation, so I found that savoring it really made me appreciate the flavor. My only alteration would be to fill up the ramekin to the top next time, I really wanted the soufflé to stick out more.

My other soufflé flattened, so I put aluminum foil over it and put it in the fridge. I had part of it for breakfast the next morning. It was moist, almost like custard, but not better than the hot version.

If you’re looking to impress someone, this maple soufflé would do the trick. This recipe can be adjusted  (doubled, tripled) to make more servings. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

