Beef, Spinach, and Corn Burritos

This summer I discovered an authentic Mexican restaurant in my neighborhood. Boy, what a tragedy to my wallet… Yet I will never forget the explosions of flavor I experienced. It was an easy cop-out; if my mom was too busy to cook and I was too lazy to feed myself, I would just order in.

Now, almost 200 miles away from home, I yearn for flavor. I’m thinking to myself, what can I make that’s both flavorful and healthy? The frozen pack of spinach I’ve had for a few weeks seemed to be calling my name. I got the perfect idea, then picked up some beef, some spices, and some tortillas.

My beef, spinach, and corn burrito was born. It proved to be a hearty and flavorful meal.

I followed this recipe for a simple burrito as my base. Here is my recipe:

  • 1/4 cup chopped spinach
  • 1/2 lb ground beef
  • 4 tortillas
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cups white rice
  • 1 and 3/4 cups water
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1/2 can corn
  • salsa to taste
  • salt and pepper to taste

Put the rice, black beans, and 1 and 1/2 cups of water in a rice cooker. Press the button for white rice. Wait for it to (nearly) finish before continuing with the recipe. In a pan, cook the spinach for about four minutes. Then add the 1/4 cup of water, ground beef, spices, and corn. Cook it until it absorbs all the water. Set the rice and beans and the beef mixture in separate containers. Pour the cheese in the container with beef. Place 4 tortillas on plates. Place a few scoopfuls of the rice and beef on each tortilla. Scoop as much salsa as you want. Fold the tortilla’s two sides over the scoops, and then repeat with the the top and bottom sides.

I love using spinach in meals and sneaking in vitamins. The corn adds an element of sweetness that works well with the spiciness of the beef. If you can handle more spice, I suggest using some Sriracha sauce.

This burrito is hearty and easy-to-make. It’s perfect for the typical college student. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

