Shakshuka… With Cheese!

Eggs are a college student’s best friend. Seriously.

Last month, I bought 60 eggs for about four dollars at Walmart. I had to ask an employee if the huge carton was priced correctly, because I couldn’t believe it. Buying in bulk really came in handy.

You’ve seen me use many eggs in a recipe before. However, I have never been as excited to cook some eggs as I was with this recipe. I was craving a cheesy, tomato-y breakfast one day and immediately knew what I wanted: shaksuka with cheese.

I followed this recipe but here’s what I did differently:

  • 1/2 jar of your favorite tomato sauce (I use a chunky vegetable sauce)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 slices of bread
  • 3 tablespoons of butter
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 tablespoon onion powder
  • 3/4 cup of mozzarella cheese
  • 1 tablespoon chopped parsley

Put 2 tablespoons of butter in a pan on medium heat. After it melts, put half the jar of the tomato sauce in with all of the seasonings except the parsley. After the tomato sauce is boiling, crack both of the eggs in the pan. Let them poach for around 5 minutes. Put the mozzarella cheese and the rest of the parsley and remove the pan from heat. Toast the slices of bread and then butter them and put them on a plate. With a spatula, place the poached eggs on the toast. Let it cool for a little and bite in.

I definitely overcooked this the first time I attempted my shakshuka. However, even overcooked it wasn’t that bad. A perfectly poached egg, though, should be your goal. When perfectly cooked, a poached egg is soft and a little bit runny. The taste is amazing.

The cheese really gives this dish a bit more appeal; after completing this recipe I now want to make this for breakfast every day. I see it in my future! Shakshuka with cheese every day. I can’t wait. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

